Bible Lessons for Preschoolers

Investing God's Word Into Our Children

Thoughts on Lesson#1 January 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — preschooljoy @ 9:24 pm

I’m writing these lessons, then trying them out, and then posting them. This is my “online lab”, of sorts. So after I do a lesson, I’ll often post thoughts of how I think it went, what I would change, etc.

For Fear of the Lord, Lesson #1, I don’t really have any negatives. We had fun! The game went well, the girls seemed to get the point, and they wanted to keep playing Hide ‘n Seek. Happiness was a bit upset by not being able to find me quickly, but that helped underscore the comfort of knowing that God always watches over us. My only change might be not doing the minibook again. Neither girl was that enthused about it, though I think it will be good to help them remember the points studied. They didn’t mind pasting it together. They just didn’t seem to really care.

This week we’re also studying the letter F and doing a unit study based on “A Fish Out of Water”. It’s been fun, though we didn’t go that in depth. I’m teetering between the Charlotte Mason ideal of free play and the fun that I personally have doing lessons with them. My personal balance at the moment is to “study” subjects, but to do so in a heavily play-oriented environment.

 

Leave a Reply

