Bible Lessons for Preschoolers

Investing God's Word Into Our Children

What About Mom? Modeling the Fear of the Lord February 8, 2010

Filed under: What About Mom? — preschooljoy @ 11:13 am

For the Lord sees clearly what a man does, examining every path he takes. (Prov.5:21, NLT)

As we teach our children the qualities found in Proverbs, we need to examine our own hearts as well. Are we living out these qualities or just teaching them?  Children learn more from watching us live than from hearing us talk.

So what about the fear of the Lord? As I’ve been examining my own life in relationship to this quality, I’m asking these questions:

  1. Do my words exhibit a reverence for the Lord? I don’t want to talk about God flippantly. When my kids hear me mention God’s name, I hope it’s always in reverent context. For me, that means I’m uncomfortable with certain jokes that make use of the names “God” or “Jesus”.
  2. If Jesus was visible today in my home , what is one way my behavior would change? An important element of the fear of the Lord is being aware that everything we do is seen by God. As I’ve been working on this study, I’ve been convicted of my complaining. I like to “vent” to my husband, my mom, my friends, but these conversations are basically complaining sessions. I’m in direct violation of Paul’s admonition to “do all things without grumbling or complaining…” With God’s grace, this is going to change.
  3. Am I honest in all things?
    And I do mean all! White lies, in my experience, are easy for moms to tell and easy to justify. “No, we don’t have any more cookies” (and there’s a stack in the cookie jar). “Maybe later” (which means never). I need to be aware that God is listening to my every word and demands honesty! My kids will learn how much I value God’s opinion when they see my commitment to right living.  And they very quickly catch on to these fudgings of the truth… 🙂
 

Leave a Reply

