Bible Lessons for Preschoolers

Investing God's Word Into Our Children

How’s It Going? March 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — preschooljoy @ 7:21 am

I’m working on putting more Proverbs lessons together, but realized today that I need to take some time to evaluate my children’s growth in the qualities we’ve already covered. It’s easy for me to fall into the trap of simply relying on these lessons to take care of their character training. It’s much harder to make sure I’m actively training throughout the day.

Diligence: My oldest has embraced her chores, and loves putting stickers on her chore chart. My 2nd isn’t so crazy about it, and needs to be prodded to accomplish her work. We’ve also started making clean-up time more of an integral part of the daily routine. I’m trying to do less of the toy clean-up by myself, and more of it with them. I still lean towards not wanting them to do too much work – after all, it’s not fun! But I know that isn’t good for their character. How many chores do you think preschool age children should be doing?

Honesty: The lesson about being a faithful witness has been great for us. Just the whole concept of “telling it like it happened” has been an effective one. At this point, it seems like both Happiness and Sweetness are choosing honesty consistently.

Quarreling: Ahhh, the fights over toys, space and books that are beginning to go on here. Right now I’m studying what the Bible says about fights and disputes. Any practical advice would be much appreciated.

And You? How is the character training of your children going? What are their strong points? What are their weak points? I’d love to hear how it’s going!

 

Leave a Reply

