Bible Lessons for Preschoolers

Investing God's Word Into Our Children

Are YOU watching your words? April 27, 2010

Filed under: Character Building,Parenting Thoughts,What About Mom? — preschooljoy @ 9:00 am

“A woman of knowledge uses words with restraint, and a woman of understanding is even-tempered.” (Prov. 17:27)

I was unhappy about a decision my husband had made. Lost my cool and said some words I regretted. Later, I came into the living room to find one daughter standing in a puddle of pee, while the other daughter ran through it and slipped and fell on her face, knocking over the high chair in the process. My words in response to this? Well, no one would accuse me of being even tempered.

As I was working on this series of lessons, life made me come face to face with James’ statement: “No man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.” Why is it so hard to tame our tongue? I don’t really have any great answers, and after my failures last week, I feel quite unqualified to write this post. Yet, I know we as mothers desperately DO need to watch our words.  We can do much damage to our children in an unguarded moment of anger. Instead of pontificating about it, I’m going to just share three verses that I need to hear and remember. I hope they encourage you too:

  • “…a quarrelsome wife is like a constant dripping.” (19:13)
  • “A patient man has great understanding, but a quick-tempered man displays folly.” (14:29)
  • “An offended brother (or child) is more unyielding than a fortified city, and disputes are like the barred gates of a citadel.” (18:19)
 

Leave a Reply

