Bible Lessons for Preschoolers

Investing God's Word Into Our Children

Firm Foundations 4:1 August 31, 2010

Theme: God is everywhere
“Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.” (Psalm 139:7,8)

Scripture Memory: We’re memorizing Psalm 139:1-4 over the next 2 weeks. My parents had me memorize this entire Psalm when I was 10 or so, and it’s been such a blessing to have it hidden in my  heart. Knowing that God is always there, that He created me with purpose and that all my days have been ordained for me are truths that have shaped and continue to shape my life. That’s why I’m really excited about starting my children memorizing this Psalm as well. I’m going to use a mix of sign language and non sign language actions. Please feel free to modify however you think best.

  • “O Lord (ASL sign), You have searched me (ASL sign) and you know me (ASL sign);
  • “You know when I sit (sit down) and when I rise (stand up);”

Catechism Q&A: Q. Where is God? A. God is everywhere.

All Around Us: Read Psalm 139:5-12. God is everywhere! Look up. He’s there! Look behind the couch. He’s there! Look outside. He’s there! Though we can’t see Him or touch Him, we know God is there and sustains the whole earth by His power. To illustrate, talk about gravity. Grab a collection of items, then pull out a stepladder and let your children climb to the top. One by one, they can drop each object to the ground. Can any object stay in the air? Nope, ’cause gravity pulls it down! And even though you can’t see gravity, it is still there and working hard. Point out how God is also unseen, but He’s there and working to take care of us. And while gravity doesn’t affect us in space, God’s presence is with us everywhere, even in the Milky Way!

Gravity Play: Provide your children lots of bouncy balls, and have fun bouncing them everywhere! For further study, check out Gravity is a Mystery at your local library.

Notebook: Do a crayon rubbing of some of the items you dropped in the gravity experiment. Put them in day one’s square of the Notebook page as a reminder that God is everywhere!

 

Leave a Reply

